Follow us

Guy surfing in winter on irish coast

REVIEWS

Write a new review for the Guestbook

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Fields marked with * are required.
Your E-mail address won't be published.
Hengameh Hengameh from Northern Ireland wrote on 28th September 2020 at 9:31 pm:
It was our fourth visit to The Water's Edge in Aughris and certainly it will not be the last. Helen is a fabulous host and very welcoming. On arrival we were greeted with home made cake, bottles of wine and fresh cut flowers which immediately lifts your mood. The views from the cottage is amazing, facing the ocean and a beach just across the road There is also cliff walk close to cottage with fantastic views from the top. If you fancied to go out for a meal beach bar is very close although the house is well equipped with all you need for home cooking. During our stay we unfortunately had a medical situation. Once we contacted Helen, she was outstanding in dealing with the situation which is very reassuring. We are very grateful to her and the personal care we received. I highly recommend the cottage as we had another fabulous week (September 19th to 26th).
... Toggle this metabox.
maryfitzgerald maryfitzgerald from Dublin wrote on 26th September 2020 at 10:13 pm:
We have just spent two amazing weeks in The Swallows Nest.Helen is a wonderful host, the house is very comfortable and situated in a wonderful location in Easkey.There was four of us including two teenagers and the house was perfect for us all.We would love to return and highly recommend The Swallows Nest.
... Toggle this metabox.
Paul & Judy Cahalin Paul & Judy Cahalin from Dublin wrote on 9th September 2020 at 2:00 pm:
This was our first year to stay at The Water's Edge in Aughris. We had such an amazing week in this stunning location right beside the ocean, listening to the waves from the kitchen and right beside a lovely beach where the kids had an absolute ball. The location itself is a perfect base for exploring more of the greater north west but there is also so much to see in the immediate vicinity. The house itself is perfect and has all mod cons helping make it a home away from home and Helen's personal touch made us feel welcome from the very start. We were sad to be leaving at the end of our holiday and made sure to book again for next year and we are looking forward to that already.
... Toggle this metabox.
Gerald Kane Gerald Kane from belfast wrote on 3rd September 2020 at 4:33 pm:
"A little piece of Heaven" We have been holidaying at the Waters Edge for the past fifteen years. The cottage is just beautiful and fantastically well equipped, which makes it feel like a home from home. The views from the cottage are stunning and whats not to like about waking up to the Atlantic Ocean on your doorstep! The location makes a great base for exploring Sligo,Mayo,and Roscommon. There is always a lovely warm welcome from Helen,who goes the extra Irish Mile to ensure that the guests have a marvelous holiday! Thank you Helen, for so many lovely memories.
... Toggle this metabox.
Mary P Corcoran and Alex White Mary P Corcoran and Alex White from Dublin wrote on 31st August 2020 at 12:23 pm:
The Water's Edge at Aughris Head is the perfect escape for those looking to immerse themselves in the wonderful natural resources of Ireland. On our doorstep we had beautiful swimming beaches and a pier, cliff walks, mountain cycles and endlessly changing skyscapes. The house is very well supplied and the welcome gifts of homemade brack and wine we found on arrival set the tone for the kindness of our host Helen Culkin throughout our holiday. She supplied us with turf and firewood to stave off the effects of Storm Ellen (week 1) and Storm Francis (week 2)! The sun did not always shine but we had a wonderful time exploring the local area and across into Mayo. Would highly recommend this superb holiday cottage.
... Toggle this metabox.
Philip Philip from Dublin wrote on 29th August 2020 at 10:02 am:
A comfortable and very well presented house in a good location for enjoying the beauties of Sligo and Mayo or just staying local and playing in the surf! Helen is a friendly and welcoming host who will helped us enjoy a great week. Highly recommended.
... Toggle this metabox.
Johanne Mc Colgan Johanne Mc Colgan from Muff, County Donegal wrote on 27th August 2020 at 5:16 pm:
We spent a fabulous week in The Swallow Nest in Easky. The accommodation was superb!! It was clean, bright, spacious and airy and had everything that a family could need. The large wet room was an amazing extra to what was already fantastic accommodation. The wet room allowed the everyday washing of wetsuits, body boards and kids buckets and spades so easy and with lots of drying space. Of course the benefits of having a wet room with a washing machine and tumbledryer, clothes airer, iron and ironing board just makes laundry a breeze!! Everywhere you look in this super home we're the subtle finishing touches that add class; the fresh flowers, homemade tea brack, additional linen to say the least. The hospitality extended by the owner Helen and her family was second to none!! They ensured our break was relaxed and easy with the kids. We experienced an action packed week in Easkey, from surfing, hill walking , climbing Croagh Patrick, pier jumping and chilling on the beach and will most definitely be back. As repeat visitors to The Swallows Nest we recommend this hidden gem to anyone looking for a self catering home away from home!!
... Toggle this metabox.
Noeline Owens Noeline Owens from Dublin wrote on 11th August 2020 at 10:19 am:
We spent a week in Waters Edge with our four young children. Helen was a fantastic host and it felt like we were on a boat looking out at a beautiful sea view from every window. The children enjoyed access to a beach which was not crowded and where they could play safely in a great big space. The beach bar restaurant was also a lovely option on the door step for fresh pints and great food. Waters Edge has everything you need for a happy family holiday in the beautiful surroundings of the west of Ireland on your doorstep. Many thanks Helen
... Toggle this metabox.
The Keenan Family from Galway The Keenan Family from Galway from GALWAY wrote on 7th August 2020 at 10:28 pm:
We stayed at The Swallows Nest for a week from 18th July last and after family holidays (2 adults & 4 children) over the years in France, Spain and Italy and we can say we had the best family holiday ever....nobody wanted to leave. One forgets what is best is sometimes on one's doorstep. Ideally located within a short drive from the beach towns of Enniscrone to the south and Strandhill to the north this little gem offers everything from sand, sea, surf, river walks, fishing, mountain trails and most important quality family time in luxury accommodation. The hosts are in our opinion the flag bearers in genuine warm Irish hospitality. The care and attention to detail is stamped all throughout the house, every need is catered for making it a real home from home leaving lasting impressions and a longing to return. And even the weather behaved!! Helen, Joseph & family, thank you so much for a holiday and memories of a lifetime. We cannot wait to return and see you soon. Tom, Ruth & family
... Toggle this metabox.
John John from Ballina wrote on 7th August 2020 at 3:48 pm:
Absolutely amazing place.
... Toggle this metabox.
Michael & Louise Walsh Michael & Louise Walsh from Dublin wrote on 2nd August 2020 at 2:13 pm:
The West is Best If you want to experience genuine hospitality along the Wild Atlantic Way, in a house that has all the facilities you require, go to The Swallow's Nest in Easkey, Co Sligo. Five of us had a great week at this superb, ridiculously good value, self-catering home where we were greeted with a welcome pack that would put a five-star hotel to shame. Our host, Helen, made us feel so welcome from the start and could not do enough to make our stay a memorable one. The Swallow's Nest is superbly equipped and ideally located for whatever activity you choose. You can do some serious walking along Mayo and Sligo trails, as we did, by hiking to the summit of Nephin and exploring Gráinne Mhaol's coastline at Achill. Sligo's hills and mountains also beckoned where you can make it to the summit of magnificent Ben Bulbin, seek out Queen Maeve's trail on Knocknarea, or walk the Gleniff Horseshoe which shows off the Dartry Mountains to great effect. And after a day out walking, hiking or cycling, there is nothing better than returning to Easkey to take an invigorating swim in the magnificent Atlantic. Of course, without ever leaving Easkey you can sample the acclaimed surfing at Easkey beach; the waves attract surfers from all over Ireland and further afield. If you want to slow it down, you can do a spot of fishing off the pier, or in the Easkey River. The drying facilities provided by The Swallow's Nest are a boon for the surfer, hiker or fisherman. If you are so inclined, take a book and enjoy a leisurely break down by the sea, bringing with you a tasty morsel from the award-winning Pudding Row, whose new shop has opened just across the street from the Swallow's Nest. The accommodation itself is of the highest quality, with fully equipped kitchen, washing and drying facilities, more than ample dining and lounge space (even for a house full of adults), and very comfortable bedrooms, as well as one en-suite and three other shower rooms. WiFi, radio and television are also provided. Whatever activity you decide to undertake, the Swallow's Nest is the place to be. It proves the point: The West is Best.
... Toggle this metabox.
Jimmy Flynn Jimmy Flynn from Navan wrote on 25th July 2020 at 8:31 pm:
Had a wonderful week in Waters Edge with our family in Aughris. The house was just perfect, so clean, location is a dream and Helen so welcoming.
... Toggle this metabox.
Liz Walsh Liz Walsh from Dublin wrote on 20th July 2020 at 7:33 pm:
We had a superb stay at the Swallows Nest...alongside Nanny and Grandad and our two boys. Something for everyone and the Swallows nest is a great spot to explore from. The accomodation is spotlessly clean with a fab welcome pack, comfy beds, everything you need for cooking at home...especially during Covid times! The house is so convenient to the village with a lovely river walk all the way to the dramatic rocky Easkey shoreline. Swam in the lovely poll gorm nearly everyday and went fishing from Killala harbour. 45 mins from Sligo too which is great and Inishcrone is close by too with a fab beach and brilliant playground with go carts for the kids. Helen is a fantastic host....we all cannot recommend her and the Swallows Nest highly enough. Liz & Phil Walsh
... Toggle this metabox.
orlaith murphy orlaith murphy from Greystones wrote on 15th July 2020 at 3:05 pm:
We are just back from a wonderful week long stay at 'The Swallow's Nest' in the picturesque village of Easkey. What a truly lovely part of Ireland, steeped in history and magic! I was really fortunate to book Helen's house for the week and it was just perfect for myself and my husband and two 17yr old boys. The house was a home away from home and would have in fact accommodated a larger party. Helen and her family couldnt have been more welcoming to us. Unfortunately due to Covid the village pubs and the acclaimed Pudding row were closed but in normal times I can only imagine the 'craic' would be great in the village. I have no hesitation in recommending this house and will definitely be back.
... Toggle this metabox.
Kieran o callaghan Kieran o callaghan from Tralee wrote on 10th January 2020 at 11:35 pm:
Fantastic house and location... The Swallows Nest holiday home, located in Easkey village, next to Irelands best surf breaks was simply the best for our trip. Only a stones throw down the road you can find the award winning cafe/restaurant called 'Pudding Row', and the local pubs were so welcoming. The house itself had absolutely everyting we required - spacious, comfortably sleeping seven, large dining/sitting areas, and a superb wet/dry room for for all your equipment. Suited us so well as we are all into the outdoors. There were six of us but the price was more than reasonable. The owner Helen went above and beyond to make sure everything was ready for us and we couldn't ask for someone more accommodating. I woulds highly recommend staying in the Swallows Nest any time of year. We had a super trip but made all the more enjoyable by staying in this great holiday home.
... Toggle this metabox.
Simon, Martina and Felix Simon, Martina and Felix from Nitra wrote on 27th January 2019 at 7:52 am:
Fantastic Stay to see in the New Year. Our family stayed at The Swallows Nest for one week at the end of December. We were very lucky to find such a "gem" on the West Coast of Ireland and at such short notice. You only have to read the reviews below to see this accommodation is the perfect choice for anyone. With The Swallows Nest you find perfect comfort and cleanliness. Helen takes great pride in her hosting and really makes the stay special. One in which you will return year after year. We would highly recommend this property. It has nice walks along the coast right by the door step and just a short hop into next village there is a beach with sand for as far as the eyes can see. If you surf or are a fisherman you will find ample storage for all your equipment. So dont delay! Book your relaxing get away today at the Swallows Nest.
... Toggle this metabox.
David and Deonne Richardson David and Deonne Richardson from Tenby, West Wales wrote on 11th January 2019 at 8:12 pm:
The Swallows Nest is a beautiful cosy cottage. Helen is an amazing host who made us feel so welcome and instantly at home. The cottage was spotlessly clean with an open turf fire and beautiful pottery vases of fresh flowers. Helens delicious tea brack was amazing! Within a short distance of the cottage is a picturesque walk by the easkey river leading to the wild and windy atlantic sea. Pudding row is nearby for a hearty breakfast or lunch and Rosie’s pottery is the perfect place to buy beautiful gifts to take home. We loved visiting Knocknera, Strandhill, Aughris, Knock and Innishcrone. In fact Easkey/Sligo is so beautiful that we are returning in April to stay in the Waters Edge. Thank you Helen for your beautiful cottage and warm hospitality, I’m sure that once you stay here you will return again and again. Highly recommend this wonderful cottage.
... Toggle this metabox.
James & Teresa Neale James & Teresa Neale from Bunnanaddan wrote on 10th January 2019 at 12:02 pm:
Helen has been welcoming us to The Waters Edge at Aughris with her warmth of hospitality for many Years. We have just returned home, "rejuvenated" again, after our 15th consecutive year of visiting the cottage. There is nowhere quite like it. The cottage has charm, comfort and space to relax with friends, together with all amenities. The position is breath-taking. We are winter visitors. The weather at this time of the year gives the most wonderful and dramatic, ever changing view and colour palette over the tidal bay across to Knocknarea, Benbulben and beyond. After an exhilarating Cliff top walk with views to Donegal, or a stroll on the beach as far as Dunmoran Strand. The Beach Bar is close at hand for a well earned pint and a bite to eat in front of a warming fire with atmosphere to match. Visits to Sligo town and Ballina take in some beautiful scenery and endless possibilities. Not forgetting our annual stop at Enniscrone for our re-vitalising Seaweed Bath - This is a Must!!. When we first laid eyes on The Waters Edge, some 25 years ago, we said to each other - "Wouldn't that be a wonderful place to stay, sometime". We eventually did, and …… It "IS" the most wonderful place to stay - "Thank You Helen".
... Toggle this metabox.
Peter O'Sullivan Peter O'Sullivan from Brussels wrote on 4th January 2019 at 6:04 pm:
We stayed in the Swallows' nest over Christmas 2018 (our second stay!) and had a highly relaxing and enjoyable stay. Helen gave us a lovely welcome upon our arrival. There was a real sense of a home from home, thanks to Helen's deft touch with Christmas decorations - we particularly appreciated the beautiful natural holly! We found the house to be cosy and comfortable. Each room was perfectly clean and tidy. The Swallows's nest is right in the heart of the village of Easkey and only a few minutes walk from the sea, so ideal for coastal walks etc. We would happily return! Many thanks to Helen and Joseph.
... Toggle this metabox.
FRANCES MCCANN FRANCES MCCANN from SLIGO wrote on 25th December 2018 at 7:16 am:
Hard to believe that this little cottage sits so close to the sea and yet one feels so safe within it... Thank you Helen for providing us with such a stunning location and a house so well equipped with all the little things one forgets. We had an amazing time and hope to be back again in the Springtime.
... Toggle this metabox.
You don't have permission to register